Featured Story

Dent awarded cap for outstanding service to Raby

MATTHEW Dent was awarded his club cap for outstanding service and performance in the Raby Castle Cricket Club first team at the club’s AGM.

The meeting acknowledged the increased numbers of younger players attending. Peter Jackson was re-elected as chairman, and Steve Caygill as secretary. Team captains and vice-captains Graham West and Mark Wilson for the first team and Paul Hedley and Gareth Walton for the second team were also re-elected.

Peter Jackson agreed to take on the treasurer’s duties for one year. Joe Cosgrove and Gavin Berry were each awarded honorary vice-president posts for services to the club.

The chairman congratulated the second team on winning the ‘C’ Division Knockout Cup and on gaining promotion the the ‘B’ Division next season with such a young squad. The first team was praised for its solid league performance and for reaching the Eggleston Cup semi-final.

Mark Wilson was thanked for his fund-raising efforts and the chairman also praised the efforts of all involved in maintaining the ground to such a high standard.

Batting and bowling totals were down on previous seasons, and the averages had to be based on a minimum of just five games, but the overall performances showed continued improvement. Peter Forster topped the first team batting averages with 438 runs at an average of 36.5, with Matthew Dent in second place with 404 runs and an average of 33.7. Robert West topped the bowling averages with 27 wickets at an average of 9.9 each and Mark Wilson was second with 29 wickets at an average of 16.5.

Mark Wilson won the Michael Leonard Man of the Match trophy and Joe Dent won the R.J.Caygill fielding award trophy. In the second team, Robert West topped the batting averages with 385 runs at an average of 77, with Phil Wills in second place with 291 runs at an average of 36. Robert West also topped the second team bowling averages with 15 wickets at an average of 5, with Ben Goodfellow in second place with 18 wickets at an average of 17.

Robert West won the Peter Jackson Man of the Match Trophy and Ben Goodfellow won the Eddy Padget Fielding Award Trophy.

The presentation evening at will be held at Bishop Auckland Football Club on March 9 at 7.30pm with Geoff Cook from Durham County CC guest speaker. 


Share this


Twitter Feed

View Twitter Account